Congressmen Matt Gaetz and Ro Khanna Introduce Bipartisan Amendment to Reclaim Congressional War Powers Authority

June 25, 2019
Press Release

Washington, D.C. — Today, U.S. Congressmen Matt Gaetz (FL-01) and Ro Khanna (CA-17), along with 16 original cosponsors, introduced an amendment to the annual National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA) to prevent federal funds from being used for any military force against Iran without congressional authorization. Specifically, this amendment clarifies that neither the 2001 nor 2002 Authorization for the Use of Military Force (AUMF) can be invoked to justify the use of military force against Iran. This amendment must next be made in order by the Rules Committee and then it will be considered on the floor during the NDAA debate in July.

The full amendment can be found here.

"This amendment affirms what President Trump knows and believes: unfocused, unconstitutional, unending wars in the Middle East make America weaker, not stronger,” said Rep. Gaetz. “The United States must be strong in its approach to Iran, and I applaud President Trump for acknowledging that strength can be demonstrated through mindful restraint. Iran must be prevented from obtaining a nuclear weapon and threatening international peace, but Congress must resolve to ensure that any military action is carried out Constitutionally."


“Last week, we watched President Trump come within minutes of striking Iran and involving the United States in yet another trillion-dollar war in the Middle East,” said Rep. Khanna. “President Trump campaigned on ending costly wars overseas but given the advisors he chose and his recent risky actions, he is not living up to that promise. This bipartisan amendment is a vital safeguard against unilateral actions by this president who selected the architect of the Iraq war to be his national security advisor. This amendment is also proof that opposition to war with Iran transcends partisan politics. With this effort, Americans can come together around the idea that we must stop a war with Iran.”


The 17 cosponsors of the amendment are: Reps. Adam Smith (WA-09), Anthony Brown (MD-04), Jim McGovern (MA-02), Elissa Slotkin (MI-08), Andy Levin (MI-09), Anna Eshoo (CA-18), Jim Himes (CT-04), Barbara Lee (CA-13), Jason Crow (CO-06), Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (NY-14), John Garamendi (CA-03), Andy Biggs (AZ-05), Eliot Engel (NY-16), Ruben Gallego (AZ-07), Seth Moulton (MA-06), and Deb Haaland (NM-01).